Meeting Minutes


Meeting Date: December 4, 2008



Chairperson Thaddeus Lowden called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.


Members present:  Richard Archer             C. Kenneth Anderson

                              John Augustino             Richard Dreby

                              J. Lee Daneker             David Gsell

                              Philip Drangula             Robert Rose

                              Thaddeus Lowden        Joseph Saiia

                              Fran Pagurek


Minutes from the October 2008 meeting were approved on a motion by Mr. Archer, second by Mr. Daneker.




Fire Science – Mr. Anderson presented a written and oral report.


Training – Mr. Gsell stated that Life Time Achievement Award reminders had been sent out the week of 12/1/08 and distributed copies of same. Mr. Rose stated that one nomination had been received as of this meeting.


The spring catalog has been mailed and is on the ESTC web site. Graduation for the fall semester is scheduled for 1/6/09, 7:00 PM at BCIT.


He reported that the Division of Fire Safety is not supplying books. There should be enough through mid 2009. Some books will not be available at all.


The bid for the burn building has been awarded. The first job meeting will be early January. As of this meeting, did not know exactly what was awarded. The flashover simulator and upgrade to the cascade system should be finalized early 2009.


Radio – Mr. Saiia introduced Richard Dreby as the new Public Safety Director, effective January 1, 2009.


New 9-1-1 terminals will be installed around February. Once completed, all 37 radio positions will be able to answer 9-1-1 calls.


Pictometry is being used and everyone is getting use to it.


Interoperability program between Southern New Jersey and S.E. Pennsylvania will increase capability of our system and communications with the southern end of the state and Pennsylvania.


Mr. Saiia, retiring on 12/31/08, addressed the ESAB and the fine job they are doing. He especially commended the five year plans put forward over the years as road maps to the future and recommends continuing the process. He later thanked the ESAB for their support and cooperation over the years. Mr. Lowden commended him for his work and guidance.


Fire Coordinators will not be appointed by the Freeholder Board. He further stated that OEM should recommend appointments to the Administrator. Mr. Lowden stated he wanted the ESAB to continue to recommend appointments, based on advice from the fire chiefs.  Mr. Anderson stated the correct procedure is recommendations from the Fire Chiefs to OEM then to State Fire Marshal. A discussion followed.










Chief Edward Kensler, in attendance, has served as chair of the Fire Service Award Program for the last several years. (Chief Kensler is retiring in 2009) His committee met recently and chose three recipients for the 2008 awards. He further stated it was time to bring EMS into the awards fold and wanted to secure ESAB approval. (The program originates from the ESAB)  The member’s unanimously agreed to the proposal. Chief Kensler will make the necessary adjustments.


Mr. Lowden called for approval of Fire and EMS Coordinators as submitted by their respective organizations. Mr. Augustino motioned, seconded by Mr. Pagurek. The motion passed.


The Delran Fire Department submitted a letter concerning communications; specifically designating “CP” to be in line with NIMS. The ESAB officially recommended that the Fire Chiefs and EMS work together on this issue.






Seeing no other to come before the ESAB, Mr. Daneker motioned, second by Mr. Drangula to adjourn.


The next meeting of the Emergency Services Advisory Board will be Thursday, February 5, 2009 beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Freeholder Board Room, 49 Rancocas Rd., and Mt. Holly.





Report on Fire Science Technology Degree Program

December 4, 2008



            The Advisory Committee met on October 7th.


            The training program for the newly adopted International Fire Code will become the curriculum for FSC 204 in future years.  The pilot presentation with Division of Fire Safety staff is planned soon.  The curriculum, with Train-the-Trainer sessions, will be released early in 2009.


            The Division of Fire Safety curriculum for Fire Officer I and II will now be the curriculum taught at the ESTC and the basis for credit for FSC 102.  A Firefighter cannot obtain credit for the course by passing the challenge test to qualify for Fire Officer I certification.


            I have had some conversations with Senior Instructor Steve Taylor about the Tactics and Strategy Course, FSC 202.  Currently, the three MTCO courses comprise the curriculum.  A newer Strategy and Tactics for Initial Company Operations (STICO) has been developed by the National Fire Academy.  Also, the outline for the course in the FESHE Model Curriculum was distributed at the meeting.


            We discussed several alternatives that might be used to publicize the degree program, ways to make attendance easier, and use of alternative technologies.  For instance, classes could be conducted at facilities other than the ESTC.  College courses, particularly the general education classes required for the Fire Science degree, could be scheduled at the ESTC.  Teleconferencing of courses to reduce travel time and expense.  The Arson Awareness course could be scheduled at the ESTC.


            There have been a number of e-mails, phone calls, and meetings with students and prospective students relating to the program itself and transferring credit from other institutions.       



C. Kenneth Anderson

Program Coordinator